2014 Championship Hoop Action

Post by Carlos Montoya
Last Updated: 28 May 2014
Hits: 739
STAFF REPORT There were five “new” boys state basketball champions among the six crowned at The Pit in March, when only Class 3A Hope Christian – squaring off against St. Michael’s in the title tilt for the third year in a row – emerged as a repeat winner from 2013. It was the 12th title won by Huskies coach Jim Murphy, tying him with the legendary Ralph Tasker, who won a title with Lovington before leading Hobbs to 11 championships. In addition to the top-seeded Huskies, who beat the No. 2 Horsemen 55-34 for their fifth championship in the last six years, other championship game scores (and team seeds) for the boys were: Class B (final season): No. 1 Hondo 58, No. 3 Quemado 41. Class 1A: No. 3 Hagerman 56, No. 5 Escalante 41. (Escalante knocked off No. 1 seed Cliff, 69-64, in a semifinal game.) Class 2A: No. 2 Dexter 61, No. 4 Texico 51. Class 4A: No. 1 Roswell 56, No. 2 Los Lunas 41. Class 5A: No. 1 Valley 56, No. 3 Atrisco Heritage Academy 42 (A memorable game featuring District -5A rivals.)